The irony: more abdominal surgery makes less, better??

Ok, I’m back, and I now have 2 little babies to show for my absence 🙂

Al in all it was a fairly fat-neutral experience (in other words, my weight wasn’t an issue at any point) except for a comment by one Doctor, which annoyed me at the time and now a few weeks later makes me roll my eyes instead.

I ended up with a c-section, due to complications which would have made a vaginal birth risky for the babies. I didn’t really want it, but you do what you have to do… and it went fairly smoothly at first despite the spinal taking a bit of time to get in properly. But then, after the babies had been born, I heard the surgeon mention to the OB (not my usual OB, who was on holiday, but her stand-in, another American woman) something about some bleeding. Whatever they began to do to me then (re-arrange my innards, I think) was too incredibly uncomfortable for me (no ‘pain’ as such, due to the spinal) that they had to put me under a general anesthetic.

My recovery began normally and on the second day I saw the OB who had attended the procedure. She had a look at the wound, said it was healing fine, and then began to lecture me on my weight, saying that my fat had caused the complication that had led to me being put under and made the entire procedure more difficult. But the topper was her solution; she advised me to think seriously about stomach stapling.

I mean, really? You say abdominal surgery is bad for me and your solution is *more* abdominal surgery??

On a positive note, I was back into my pre-preggy jeans 2 weeks later. I have no idea why; I didn’t do anything different at all. Or maybe that’s what caused it; a HAES approach both before and after? Who knows 🙂

9 Responses

  1. Congratulations on the babies! I’m in awe that you managed to blog with new babies around, I just kind of collapsed when I had one at a time.

    Sorry to hear how inappropriate the doctor was, you didn’t need that when trying to recover from a difficult C-section.

  2. Congratulations on the twins! Glad to know you and the babies are doing well. 🙂

    This OB, who doesn’t know you at all, should not be urging any bariatric interventions. Obviously she isn’t fully aware of the serious risks and complications involved in stomach stapling. I think it’s completely reckless of her to have done that. *grumble*

    • Yeah, I was quite taken aback by it. Luckily I was feeling OK that morning, and was able to find it funny. I mean, to recommend risky abdominal surgery because my stomach caused problems (her view) during a prior abdominal surgery? Where’s the logic there?

  3. congrats on the babies! And I do think HAES does help with postpartum return to normalcy. I was down to pre-prego weight and in my old clothes occasionally by 2 weeks PP, and fully in by 6 weeks. Considering my body didn’t need to regain fat stores because I was dieting, I had started from a good place. Or something.

    Yay babies! I’m so sorry the birth was so hard on you.

  4. WOW, can’t believe this pregnancy went by so fast!! Had no idea you were close to term.

    Congrats on your new little ones!! I hope all is going well and that you are recovering from the c/s. They’re no fun, you’re right, but you just have to do what you have to do sometimes. I’m sorry it was needed.

    It really pisses me off when docs use the opportunity to sock it to a hormonal, newly-postpartum, and surgically-recovering woman to try and push a weight loss surgery agenda. Way to hit someone when they are down……which is EXACTLY why they are doing it. They think they can get past the resistance and “save” you from yourself then. I think it’s despicable, and it’s certainly not the first time I’ve heard of it then.

    I look forward to hearing more about the whole story when you have more time and are ready to tell it. I also have a section on my website, http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org, for twin stories and would love to have yours if you are willing to share.

    I also hope you will share baby pix at some point! Again, congrats on your new babies and hope things are going well! Blog when you have time, even if it’s only a little bit here and there.

  5. HA HA HA HA HA HA HA

    I’m sorry, I’m not mocking how disrespectful that doctor was because, man, what a wanker, but just your statement of “You say abdominal surgery is bad for me and your solution is *more* abdominal surgery??” made me near wet myself with laughter. You are hilarious, and she is a douchebag.

    Congrats on your new little ones.

  6. Congratulations!

    And holy shit! Twins? Oh noooooooooo! My wife thinks that would be a complete nightmare. I think it would be kinda fun, but terrifying.

    As for the dumbass, how about a “Mind your own fucking business?” Geez, people are assholes.

    Try to forget it and, again, congrats!

    Peace,
    Shannon

    • Thanks 🙂

      Actually, it’s our second set (no fertility enhancement either time). Turns out I am just good at producing fetuses…

  7. Twins are wonderful. Congratulations!! Twice the work when newborn, but half the work ever after. Do post photoes if you can find the time. My twins are now mommies themselves (being Grandma is wonderful!!)

Leave a Reply

