Ow ow ow ow

Sorry – walking hurts these days. The title has become a fairly common refrain around here   🙂

Y’know, it’s been a long time in my life since I’ve said “Gee, I really missed having my exercise session today”, even back when I was a teen and physical activity was a basic part of my life (I quite literally walked everywhere) but there is a first time for everything, and today is that day. I’ve had some trouble carrying my belly around this pregnancy, so I took up swimming early on as a substitute for pretty much all avoidable physical activity (although when I say ‘swimming’ what I really mean is playing about having fun with my flutter board, because I am terrified of water and can’t actually swim). And when I have to miss it – like today – I find I really do actually miss it. I couldn’t figure out why. But then this afternoon it finally dawned on me:

my attitude is different. 

See, this time I have approached it purely as ‘this is me doing something vaguely active in order to have some physical movement in my day’. I’m not out to swim as many laps as possible (I’m not even counting). If I feel like just bobbing about I do it. If I feel like swimming my heart out I do it. And possibly the most important of all; I am not looking at it as ‘exercise’ or ‘a workout’ or anything along those lines. It’s just an opportunity to be active for an hour in a way that doesn’t hurt. 

Health benefits? Who knows – it’s hard to measure, especially with pregnancy interfering, but my blood pressure has come down from what it was a few months ago and the expected aches, pains and wake-ups aside I’m sleeping fairly well, and my anxiety seems to be in check. Can it all be related? Possibly, but it doesn’t really matter. 

What really matters is that when I can’t go, I miss it.

6 Responses

  1. I’m sorry you’re in pain! I had sciatica all during my last pregnancy, and then the little miss appears to have dislocated my tailbone as she was coming out, so “ow ow ow ow ow ow” has been a common refrain here, too. 😉 The sciatica hurt when I walked and the tailbone injury hurts when I sit, and I can’t decide which is worse.

    I did try to keep up with walking as much as I could during the pregnancy, and I do think it made a big difference. My mood was SO much better than it was during my first pregnancy, and, broken tailbone aside, my recovery has been a lot easier. I’m two and a half weeks postpartum right now and, while I don’t feel like my energy level is 100%, it’s not too far from it. I was able to get back to doing some walking yesterday and managed a fifteen-minute mile with no problem at all, which I know I couldn’t have done this soon after my son was born.

    I was not a super-intense exerciser this pregnancy by any means, either, so I think that even just a little can make a really big difference. And I really did miss exercising the last few weeks of the pregnancy, when I was just too tired and uncomfortable, and these last couple of weeks when I was supposed to refrain from unnecessary activity.

    • Congratulations on the birth of your daughter! I don’t even *remember* 2.5 weeks post partum last time; I was so sleep deprived and fogged 🙂

      For me it’s been ligament/muscle pain through my groin and abdomen, plus a bad back that’s getting worse. I was walking in early pregnancy but it soon got to the stage where just walking around the supermarket made me feel so bad I wanted to collapse and throw up, which is why I took up swimming… something I’d never really done before, aside from playing with my kids in the kiddie pool. And it has really made a difference, I think.

  2. My wife has really bad SPD during this pregnancy. She walks like a dinosaur!

    You might enjoy my blog if you want to know how your partner might be feeling during your pregnancy!

    All the best,

    Ben

  3. Do you have access to chiropractors where you are? I know they are more common in the States than elsewhere, but if you can find one in your area, give it a try. Made a HUGE difference in my pain levels in pregnancy. And with twins, that’s a lot of stress on your body. Wouldn’t it be lovely to get through it more easily? I have a FAQ on chiropractic in pregnancy on my http://www.plus-size-pregnancy.org website, if you are interested. If there are no chiros near you, classic osteopaths also do manipulations that many people find helpful.

    As for swimming, I LOVED swimming in pregnancy. It is great for your BP and just great for your body in general. If you are not big into laps, see if there are any water aerobics classes available. I did those in my 3rd pregnancy (along with some laps) and LOVED it. Made a few modifications for being pregnant but otherwise I was able to do everything they did.

    Hope you feel better soon!

    • Thanks for the tip – I didn’t think of chiros or osteos. There are a few in my town, cost may be an issue though, so I’ll have to check them out.

      Swimming has been wonderful. I went this morning after a couple of days off and wow, the feeling of freedom was soooo wonderful… just floating and kicking and enjoying feeling ‘light’ again with no soreness.

Leave a Reply

