Fatties, fatties, everywhere!

I don’t know if it’s because it’s summertime, or perhaps because there’s just a month ’till Christmas… but yesterday at the mall I saw something I haven’t seen before.

Other fatties.

Not the inbetweenies, not the ‘conventionally overweight’, but people of *my* size. Usually I’m the only one, or there may be one more. Which is very few, especially when you consider the suburb I live in has a fairly big Pacific Island population.

It was nice to see I’m not alone. I’m used to being the largest person in the room, shop, building, street. I used to agonise over it, now I ignore it, but I’m always aware of it. It felt odd to not be the odd (wo)man out.

 

Leave a Reply

