The P word

No, not ‘period’ – *pretty*.

I always wanted to be pretty. No, actually, that’s  not quite true; despite occasional teasing I don’t recall feeling bad about the way I looked until I was 11 or so and in my first year of Intermediate (the NZ equivalent of America’s Middle School). I was a bit of an outsider – I had boobs, my period, and was interested in learning – and a group of girls made my life hell that year. Since then I’ve never felt good about the way I look, apart from a brief period when The Man of the House and I first hooked up, about 14 or so years ago now. Occasionally I’ve looked in the bathroom mirror (the only one I have in the house, and that’s just because I can’t remove it from the wall) and caught a glimpse of myself looking ‘good’ but it’s always fleeting and I haven’t had it happen for several years now. Now, I just see me – and I don’t like it. I change my hair, I’ve even flirted with wearing make-up but nothing seems to help. I did the diet thing, back when I was still trapped into that Hollywood idea that life would change if I was thinner. It never did (change, that is) and I ended up heavier and more depressed. I never thought I looked good even when I *did* manage to lose a few kilos. It was all an illusion.

I learnt to deal with this by not dealing with it – in short, I ignored the way I looked. I never pictured myself in my head, I kept mirrors away (or I kept away from them) and that worked surprisingly well for quite a long time. But unfortunately it’s not working anymore and I need a new strategy. But I have none.

I want to feel pretty, dammit, I want to feel attractive, I want to feel sexy and confident and it’s just not happening. I haven’t felt like that before and yeah, I’m getting older but I think that everyone has the right to feel pretty at least once in their lives. Where’s mine?

2 Responses

  1. Unfortunately, terrorism of the sort witnessed at Columbine appears to be the only sort of behavior the bully loving public responds to. Could people be any more stupid?

Leave a Reply

