A little light in my day: and why it’s depressing as hell

Hi – long time no write :)  I have no excuses, I’ve just been busy with kids and study (but now I’ve graduated, yay!) and all. But I had to share this morning with you.

I’ve been having some strong pain in my left foot for over a month now. It stopped me from going to Zumba, walking the kids to school, etc., and I got sick and tired of waiting for it to go away on it’s own. So I called up the local podiatrist and made an appointment.

I’ve had mixed experiences with medical professionals in the past, from a midwife who was encouraging me to diet during a twin pregnancy to GP’s who have never once mentioned my weight and when I asked (in relation to a specific illness) told me my size was pretty much irrelevant. So I tend to have an open – and hopeful – mind when I see someone new. But I’m also aware that things seem to be getting worse in terms of fat vilification (which I personally think is down to the fact that FA is becoming more noticeable and people are beginning to think about the issues involved… which makes them feel a little uncomfortable). Plus we’ve recently had a Fat Studies conference in the city I live in (yay Dr Cat Pause!) and some of the comments relating to that have been very, very negative.

So imagine my relief when the podiatrist (“Hi, I’m Tim!”) was my very favourite kind of health professional; careful, considered, and full of explanations about what he was doing and what he felt was wrong and why. And the icing on the cake was that my weight was never mentioned  :)  I was ‘just’ a person, ‘just’ another patient… and that’s just the way I like it.

But it also depressed me because I felt grateful that he’d treated me that way – y’know, like I was just like everyone else. Because I had expected that there was a good chance he wouldn’t. And I carry that wariness into every medical appointment I go to.

It shouldn’t be like that.

5 Responses

  1. Glad to hear your voice again. Don’t stay away so long next time!

    I really relate to what you said. I always dread starting with a new care provider, never knowing what to expect, and am always so relieved if it turns out weight-neutral. Shouldn’t have to worry about that so much!

    BTW, I’ve found help for many foot ailments with a chiropractor. Sometimes there’s just something “out” down there that needs to be fixed, and then the pain resolves or greatly improves. I found help for plantar fasciitis that way. And if they can’t treat it or feel you need a foot x-ray or whatever, they’ll refer you on to a podiatrist as necessary. Just a thought. I had no idea a chiropractor could help treat a foot, so I always mention that when someone says they’ve had foot pain.

    Hope what’s going on with your foot is easily resolved, whomever you see!

  2. I know exactly. I just went to the podiatrist on Friday, believe it or not, because of a persistent pain in my foot. I avoid doctors since firing my worthless PA earlier this year after her response to my list of anxiety symptoms was ‘join Weight Watchers!’ – so I put off calling someone, figuring I’d be told my foot hurts because I’m overweight. [Only one foot hurt, so I guess the other one wasn't aware that I'm fat]. I was pleasantly surprised to NOT have the podiatrist mention weight loss. He diagnosed tendonitis and told me a number of things to do to alleviate the pain, which have helped. [Best advice among them - buy some new shoes - which I went right out and did.]

    • LOL at “Only one foot hurt, so I guess the other one wasn’t aware that I’m fat”. So many times I’ve wanted to share a similar sentiment with a Doctor…

  3. I started going to the podiatrist three weeks ago, and I have plantar fasciitis. I have the same impairments (can’t walk for a long time anymore, etc.) Though plantar fasciitis is really intertwined with my hign body weight, NO mention of it. The nurse weighed me, and when I proceeded to tell her I knew my weight was high, etc etc, she said, very gently: «it’s ok. It’s only relevant for your painkillers. Nobody will know it but you, me and the Dr. I know you are dying to be active, but because of your foot you can’t. We’ll help you regain your activity, and regardless of the impact it will have on your weight, it will be awesome.» I nearly cried. The dr was very cool, no mention of my weight, joking about my tiny toes. He is so far one of the best physical care provider I had. Yay podiatrists! I hope you get better soon, and it’s good to hear from you.

    • Thank you, and I’m glad to hear you had such a positive experience too :) It’s lovely to know there are health providers like this out there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

